Le journal étudiant de l'École secondaire la Camaradière

The Camaradiant

Le journal étudiant de l'École secondaire la Camaradière

The Camaradiant

Le journal étudiant de l'École secondaire la Camaradière

The Camaradiant

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

The Gala Éperviers


Les Éperviers’ annual gala happened on May 29th this year. The gala is a way to highlight players’ efforts throughout the year as well as their academic performance.

The night started with Jerome’s speech about how hard the players worked this year, followed by worrying but exciting news. He announced he would not be sports manager next year and that this would be the last gala he presented. To this, the students reacted very loudly and were disappointed, until he said he was staying at La Camardière and was moving to be a coordinator for the hockey concentration and would still be a rugby coach. The students, relieved, gave him a warm round of applause. He also added that he would be around more often and still be involved in extracurricular activities.

Because it was his last year hosting, he talked about his journey to being a sports manager and some lessons he had learned. He said that earlier in life, he only saw his goal and not the way to achieve it and regretted not being in the present moment. He ended by saying to take up every possible opportunity presented to us.

The school gave three major prices, plus a couple from DAM.

The first one was “Mérite Académique”. This is for students who keep high grades all year long and have known great success in their sports all year long. The students who won were Mélianne Lamontagne and Matéo Turgeon.

The second one was “Engagement et Leadership”. Students who have shown dedication towards their sports and have been supportive of their team are the ones that have been rewarded for this category, the winners are Yannel Danté and Adélie Bernard.

The last one was “Athlete de l’année” This one was for those who put the most effort into their progression and their team this year. The winners were Charles-Étienne Simard and Éva Sévigny.

DAM’s winners were Sabrina Inema, Yannel Dante, Adélie Bernard, Jacob Hallé, and for the hockey, Eliot Bilodeau, William Dumont, and James Vachon. The winners were based on their attitude in class, practice, and with DAM’s coordinator, their ability to keep up with school work, and how the athlete progressed in his/her sport all year. They also gave a prize to two coaches, Maxime Fontaine, the girls’ basketball team’s coach, and Juliette Breault, the girls’ volleyball team’s coaches.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Charlie Simard
Hi! My name is Charlie and I’m 15 years old. I like reading and often get lost in music. I started basketball in sec 2 and am pursuing it again this year. I love spending money on useless things or clothes I don't necessarily need. I think my friends would say that I'm smart, a good listener and that I love concerts. Summer is my favorite season because we can be on water all day and we feel free.

Comments (0)

All The Camaradiant Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *